Infecting the City 2017 Artist Shortlist

After much deliberation, we are thrilled to share the 2017 Infecting the City artists shortlist!

This year we received a total of 220 applications from across the country and have been impressed by the continued quality and diversity of the those received.

After a thorough selection process that invited the curatorial team and panel of seasoned advisors to examine each application, the Africa Centre is proud to announce the 47 artists shortlisted.  

Thank you to each of the artists who made submissions and congratulations to the outstanding artists listed below:


Janet Botes

Julia Burham

Thulani Chauke

Vincent Chomaz

Shoshanah Ciechanoski

Benal Dikmen

Kirvan Fortuin

Khadija Tracey Heeger

Yazeed Kamaldien

Kira Kemper

Lebohang Kganye

Enkidu Khaled

Sifiso Selby Khumalo

Anne Le Batard

Tarryn Lee

Macio Lopes

Duncan Maphanga

Eugene Mashiane

Mandla Mbothwe

Mandla Mlangeni

Sunnboy Motau

Aphiwe Mpaleni

Frankie Murrey

Siya Ngcobo

Wangechi Ngugi

Aviwe November

Nolufefe Ntshuntshe

Duncan Park

Tegan Peacock

Tamryn Pelser

Lila Philiswa

Roberto Pombo

Sandile Radebe

Jean-Michel Rolland

Marlin Roos

Asanda Ruda

Nashilongweshipwe Sakaria

Oupa Sibeko

Sia Sikawuti

Suzanne Sita

Lorin Sookool

Thenjiwe Soxokoshe

Kyle Wallace

Hannah Walton


Hi!jACK Collaboration

Darkroom Contemporary

Scroll to Top